RSS

Goodbye 2013…hello 2014!

28 Dec

Hope you all had a great Christmas and are looking forward to the New Year.

This year has had its ups and downs but it’s ended very well and I have high hopes for the new year. Here are my favourite moments of 2013.

1. Australia

This year was the year I got live out a lifetime dream and go to Australia for 10 days. It was a long trip and I went alone to meet up with my boyfriend Tom who was already working out there at the time. Read about my trip and see photos.

1391855_10151723867542967_645109726_n (1)

2. New job

It was sad to leave Buzz after two years. It was my first job from university and I had a great time working on the magazine and website. I’m on to new challenges now working as a website and social media assistant and I’m looking forward to the new year.

3. Home sweet home

At the end of 2012 Tom and I decided to move in together into our very own little flat. A year on and we’re doing just fine. We’ve renewed our contract and we have furniture! You have no idea how excited I am at having my own sofa.

4. House party

Now that I have my own place we’ve had the odd get together with friends. In September I hosted my very first dinner party with five of my friends. No one got sick and the plates were empty so I’m guessing it was a success.

We had a bigger gathering back in May for my annual Eurovision party where we got to see quite a few old friends and new.

wpid-IMAG2092.jpg

5. Download 2013

2012 didn’t scare me off and I returned for the second time to Download Festival. The weather was slightly better and there were a lot of bands performing that I wanted to see including Katatonia and Rammstein.

Lidl's shoppers like Korn

Lidl’s shoppers like Korn

Low point

The weather has got to be the worst part of 2013. I know I talk about it quite a lot anyway but it has been particularly plan-destroying this year. At the start of 2013 I almost lost my car to the snow storm. Mid year we had a heat wave. At the end of 2013 we’ve had to battle floods, trees falling down and lengthy power cuts due to the storms that have recently hit the UK.

I don’t believe this will change in 2014.

Resolutions

Last year my resolutions were to read the books in the BBC Book List Challenge which is partially completed. I’m rolling it on into my 2014 resolutions.

Another few life goals were accomplished including taking up volunteering. I now help out in the local RSPCA shop every other Saturday. I also came third in two cookery competitions and I’m aiming for first next year!

In 2014 I plan to work hard at my new job and I’m also looking to do a bit of travelling. Oktoberfest 2014 is a big possibility.

For 2014 I hope your year is full of fun and happiness!

Happy New Year!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Goodbye 2013…hello 2014!

  1. Amy

    May 11, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    Hi Megan,

    what would you say the best camp is to camp in ?

    first year for me and my group of friends and we really haven’t a clue what to expect – going in blind :S but so so excited

     
    • meganchapple

      May 11, 2015 at 5:32 pm

      At Download it depends when you get there. The best camps fill up fast. Blue is the closest and was the best. We were lucky to get in there.

       

Leave a comment