RSS

Eurovision 2013: First semi-final verdict

14 May
Eurovision 2013

Eurovision 2013

The first of the semi-finals took place tonight where 10 finalists were chosen. It was a brilliant semi-final with lots of strong contenders for the winning place. I made a quick top 10 before the finalists were announced and I am pleased to say I got 7 out of 10 correct but I am very disappointed that one in particular did not get through who, in my mind, gave one of the most entertaining performances ever in Eurovision.

Singers from Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus  Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, The Netherlands and Ukraine all performed in tonight’s show.

The finalists are:

  1. Estonia: Birgit – Et Uus Saaks Alguse 
  2. Denmark: Emmelie de Forest – Only Teardrops
  3. Russia: Dina Garipova – What If
  4. Ukraine: Zlata Ognevich – Gravity
  5. The Netherlands: Anouk – Birds
  6. Lithuania: Andrius Pojavis – Something
  7. Belarus: Alyona Lanskaya – Solayoh
  8. Moldova: Aliona Moon – O Mie
  9. Ireland: Ryan Dolan – Only Love Survives
  10. Belgium: Roberto Bellarosa – Love Kills

I picked these apart from Belgium because it was just bad, Belarus because it was too trashy (even for Eurovision) and Ireland who I am not too sad about seeing as we get to see the drummers again. My other three were Austria, Serbia and Montenegro.

I am very shocked by some of the comments that have come out since the finalists were announced. Lithuania, as you know from my earlier prediction, were one of my favourites. They let me down a little with their performance but they were definitely better than Belgium! Leave Lithuania alone.

My upset of the night though had to be Montenegro. It is a well-known fact that rap gets no where in Eurovision but this performance was pure brilliance. Rapping dubstep spacemen? Yes please!

I cannot believe they will not be in the final but just so you don’t miss out, here is their performance.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2013 in Personal

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
