RSS

Eurovision special: The countdown begins

19 Mar
Eurovision 2013

Eurovision 2013

All 39 entries for the 2013 Eurovision Song contest in Malmo have been announced and the countdown to this year’s competition is official on.

The 39 will be condensed to 26 after the semi-finals on Tuesday 14 May and Thursday 16 May when 10 winners from each round will join the big five (UK, Spain, France, Germany and Italy) and last year’s winner and this year’s host Sweden in the Grand Final on Saturday 18 May.

Already I can see some favourites emerging and I definitely have my ‘Top 3’ figured out but sadly my country is not one of them. Eighties singer Bonnie Tyler will represent the UK this year but although I love her power ballad “Total Eclipse of the Heart” (who doesn’t) and there is no denying Bonnie is a talented singer, we can see from previous winners in the competition that the Eurovision audience likes modern music with a mix of club and pop always at the top of the board. Even with Bonnie’s epic voice I can not help feeling there are more memorable and livelier songs in the competition.

I also do not understand why we keep using Eurovision as a platform for singers to make a comeback but maybe in future the selection method of public vote will return.

Rant over, my Top 3 so far are:

Norway – Margaret Berger – I Feed You My Love

My favourite. Love it.

Germany – Cascada – Glorious

Germany won not long ago but I really think they are going to do it again this year. Not only is Cascada a well-known artist but this song is quite good as well and it seems to be the clear favourite at the moment.

Lithuania – Andrius Pojavis – Something

Lithuania are always really underrated in the competition but I always think their songs are not that bad. This one has not been rated very highly by other Eurovision enthusiasts but I think it deserves a second listen.

And the UK’s entry

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 19, 2013 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Eurovision special: The countdown begins

Leave a Reply

 
