RSS

Getting crafty: Mother’s Day

11 Mar

Spring cupcakes

Sorry it has been a while since my last post. I have had ideas for posts in the last few weeks but unfortunately I have been a little busy with more car troubles and a hectic diary.

What’s new

If you have followed me on Twitter (@MeganC101) you will see that I have recently discovered Pinterest which is very useful for someone who is in desperate need of decorating ideas for her new flat. Pinterest allows users to post pictures to a board to give themselves ideas or share with others. I would like to say I have added a few aspirational pictures here and there.

I have dyed my hair again but still not to the desired shade of purple so next time I am going to bite the bullet and  bleach it. Wish me luck.

I have bought my Download festival tickets for this year following a great time last year (hopefully without the rain this time). Headliners this year are Slipknot, Iron Maiden and Rammstein.

Also, the Eurovision 2013 countdown is on as many countries have now announced their entries  Expect a Eurovision prediction post in the coming weeks.

Mother’s Day

Yesterday was Mothering Sunday in the UK. Many countries celebrate Mother’s Day on the second Sunday of May but in the UK it is always the second Sunday of March. Reverting back to my childhood when I used to make my mum gifts on this day, I decided to create a card for her and bake some ‘spring’ cupcakes (pictured above).

IMG_2294

I went to a craft fair two weeks ago which was a great opportunity to explore what was out there. Luckily there were loads of papercraft stalls, the level I think I would like to stay on for now. I managed to get a lot of cheap starter packs to get me going, with odd bits of material from the bargain bins. This gave me plenty to work with.

IMG_2298

IMG_2301

 

I made the border by gluing a blue ribbon around the card and placed a pretty piece of white see-through ribbon over the top.

IMG_2304

IMG_2308

 

Then I decided to challenge to myself my gluing a bit of pale blue tulle (a bit at a time) to the centre of the card to form a circle tulle border under my paper doily – which I glued on top. I finished with a border of plastic stick-on pearls.

Using the outer edge of the doily, I made a border for the message. Just wish I had a nicer pen to write with.

IMG_2309

IMG_2310

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2013 in Getting crafty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Getting crafty: Mother’s Day

  1. trixfred30

    March 12, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Great work – We turned up at my mum’s expecting to be the only offspring to make it (my 3 sisters all live further away) only to find everyone was already there! 4 children (including me), 4 spouses (1 wife, 2 husbands + 1 fiance) and 7 grandchildren – the whole lot. What a nightmare…

     
    • meganchapple

      March 13, 2013 at 6:15 pm

      Family reunion! Mine was a lot smaller. Just mum, me, dad, my brother and the dog.

       
  2. Arindam

    March 17, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    Great work Megan!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
