RSS

Getting Crafty: Valentine’s special

14 Feb

My first creative project of 2013 is for Valentine’s Day. This time it is not just about the box or the cake, but the card as well.

Decoupage card

Decoupage cardDecoupage is the art of decorating an object by glueing bits and pieces to it. As this was my first time at making a decoupage card, I will admit I did not stray far from the practice design but I’m happy with the outcome, and I hope Tom will like it too.

A lovely box

Cupcake box

I was lucky to have a lot of red bits to stick to my box and, following a coat of black marker, I now have a beautiful box to display my cupcake in. These boxes are definitely getting easier to make and less is definitely more.

Valentine’s cupcakes

Valentine's Cupcakes

I found these edible rose decorations at ASDA and of course, chocolate is the flavour of choice for Valentine’s Day.

Mix 85g butter, 85g caster sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract in a bowl. Beat in two eggs and then sift in 70g plain flour, 1 tbsp cocoa powder and 1 tsp baking powder. Fold until combined. Place six cases on a baking tray and divide the mixture between them. Cook in a preheated oven at 180C for 20 minutes. When done, place on a cooling rack and leave until fully cooled. For the icing, mix 55g butter, 115g icing sugar and 25g melted butter. Decorate the cakes with icing and the edible roses.

IMG_2230

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in Getting crafty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
