RSS

Christmas cupcakes

15 Dec

wpid-IMAG1834-1.jpgIntroducing part three of my ‘Getting Crafty’ posts where I take my love of baking and my very basic craft skills, and make gifts for friends and family.

In part two I made Halloween cupcakes and gift boxes. Now, as we get closer to Christmas, I’ve decided to make a festive version.

First I brought some blue glitter glue, snowy sticker borders and other Christmas stickers (available from most craft shops) and used these to decorate the boxes. After realising that swirls were about the only thing I could do with the glitter glue, I headed out to the shop again and picked up some silver snowflakes.

I kept the blue and white winter theme when I made the cupcakes. I will admit that I cheated with the icing but only because I didn’t have any icing sugar left and there was a tub of Betty Crocker icing on the side just waiting to be used.

Christmas cupcakeswpid-IMAG1830.jpg

Makes 24

  • 225g softened butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 5 tbsp milk

To decorate

Preheat oven to 180C and line two trays with 24 cupcake cases. Beat the butter, sugar and vanilla together and then gradually beat in the egg. Sift in the flour and then fold in with the milk until combined. Divide between the cases. Bake for 20 minutes and then leave to cool before decorating.

Merry Christmas!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2012 in Getting crafty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Christmas cupcakes

  1. clothmonkey

    December 16, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    so pretty… and a lovely gift

     
    • meganchapple

      December 18, 2012 at 8:30 am

      Thank you, I’ve had a lot of great feedback from the people I gave them to.

       
  2. Brittany

    December 17, 2012 at 2:25 am

    These look great! I would love getting this as a gift!

     

Leave a Reply

 
