RSS

Halloween cupcakes

25 Oct

I’ve been a bit creative recently. Firstly I brought some plain single cupcake boxes and made some nice gift boxes. Then I took a shopping trip to Lakeland and decided to have a baking session. This week I’ve decided to combine both of these ideas to celebrate Halloween!

Halloween is my favourite time of the year. I’ve always associated Halloween with getting creative and meeting up with friends. From making a fancy dress costume as a child to going to house parties as a teen. I also associate Halloween with good luck as last year I passed my driving test on the exact day.

Supplies

So to kick start the spooky session I’ve decorated some of my cake boxes and made some creepy cupcake treats.

Boxes

Using Hobby Craft for all my materials, I used marker pens to colour the boxes, and my Halloween stencils to decorate. The stencils include owls, bats, cats, witches and ghosts. I also added a spider and web to one of the boxes.

Cupcakes

For the cupcakes, I brought some special orange and black Halloween sprinkles which included sprinkles shaped like bats. I also purchased some Halloween cases and orange and black food colouring.

I whisked 175g caster sugar and 175g butter together and then added three eggs, 175g self-raising flour and two tablespoons of milk. I whisked the ingredients together and then divided the mixture between twelve cases. I baked them for 25 minutes and left to cool on a baking tray. As they cooled, I mixed two lots of 100g butter and 200g icing sugar in bowls and added the colouring until I was happy with the colour. Using my piping bag and sprinkles, I decorated the cakes.

Look out for next weeks post as I spend the weekend at Alton Towers Scarefest!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2012 in Getting crafty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Halloween cupcakes

  1. Jillian

    October 26, 2012 at 12:54 am

     
  2. Arindam

    October 27, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    Great work, Megan. It seems you had lot of fun doing this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
