RSS

Baking mad

11 Oct

I love baking but like I’ve said many times, I’m not brilliant at baking. I wouldn’t say I was bad because quite often my baking looks bad but tastes good. Coming up to Halloween I always get into a baking mood. Last year I made pumpkin muffins and spider web cookies and this year I’ve made Halloween gingerbread.

Firstly I went out and brought some brand new cutters from Lakeland who have a great range of shapes from gingerbread people to special Halloween shapes which include pumpkins, witches, ghosts and bats.

I’d like to say I have never made gingerbread before but after watching the gingerbread episode of The Great British Bake Off I got the sudden urge to bake some. This is how I did it…

Ingredients

  • 115g butter
  • 450g plain flour
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g golden syrup
  • 115g demerara sugar
  • 1 egg

First I preheated the oven to 160C and lined two baking trays with baking paper. I sifted my flour, ginger, cinnamon and bicarbonate of soda into a large bowl. In a saucepan I melted the butter, syrup and sugar over a low heat. Then I poured the syrup mixture into the dry ingredients, added the egg and mixed it all together to form a dough.

I rolled the dough out on a floured surface and then started cutting the shapes out. I placed the shapes on the baking trays and baked for 20 minutes in the preheated oven.

Whilst they baked I mixed up some icing and added the food colourings (orange and grey). The orange turned out great, the grey not so great hence the ‘runny’ look. When I removed the biscuits I placed them on a cooling rack and when they completely called I tried to decorate. I didn’t have a small enough piping bag to do any good patterns so I had to rely on a teaspoon and a steady hand.

They don’t look brilliant but I can tell you, hand on heart, they taste better than they look.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Baking mad

Leave a Reply

 
