RSS

Putting on my dancing shoes…again

19 Sep

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post about the many hobbies and classes I had taken part in over the years. A large part of those classes were dance related but sadly these were all in my childhood. I had made several attempts to take up dancing again but due to a lack of funds and the two left feet I had acquired in my absence I hadn’t been able to return.

Then a couple of days after writing the post I came across an advert for a local Ballroom and Latin American dance class. I went for it.

The immediate problem with this choice is that unlike my earlier dance classes where you were either an independent dancer or part of a group, this type of dancing would involve me being part of a pair and I had no dance partner so I was paired with a complete stranger. Then there was the fact I was much younger than the rest of the group, however, I was prepared for this. I have yet to meet a person my age with an interest in ballroom dancing. I’ve always loved dancing whether it be ballet, hip-hop, belly or ballroom. I don’t know where the interest for ballroom first came from. As a child I guess all little girls want to be Belle from Beauty and the Beast and dance around in a huge ballroom but as a young adult the only inspiration I think we could initially get would come from reality shows like Strictly Come Dancing. In my opinion there’s just something very graceful and beautiful about it that I just had to try for myself.

So I looked passed the age gap and it wasn’t as if it was stopping anyone anyway. Everyone else in the group is ahead of me. Like I’ve said, in the time I’ve been away from dancing my coordination has gone out of the window. I continuously stepped on my partner’s toes as the teacher tried to teach me the basic Waltz steps.

We learnt the basic steps of Argentine Tango which I had never heard of until now and then we moved on to salsa which I couldn’t wait to learn. As a more energetic dance, I felt this was more suited to me and I hoped I would pick it up better. Turns out it’s harder. Just when I had mastered the first steps they decided to test what we had learnt to the music which meant going at the proper pace. I stumbled everywhere.

I don’t expect to become a pro but I think there’s a lot I could learn from taking up dancing and it’ll get easier as I get back into my dancing shoes. I think more young people should get into ballroom dancing. Just because it’s old-fashioned doesn’t necessarily make it a bad thing. New generations need to keep hold of old pastimes otherwise they’ll die out, then who will Waltz with me?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Putting on my dancing shoes…again

  1. StephBristow

    September 19, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I did ballroom dancing for seven years when I was younger up till 14 when I quit, I wish I hadn’t now as your quite right, all co-ordination goes straight out the window. Something I would love to get back into as well! Wait till you start on the Ballroom Jive, took me months to get to the point where I could get through it without falling on my butt lol x x x

     
    • meganchapple

      September 20, 2012 at 6:51 am

      You never told me that. Did you win any awards? I don’t know why but I get muddled up all the time. It’s like my mind says one thing and my feet do the other.

       
      • StephBristow

        September 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

        Well its like you said really, when I was 14 no one was really in to Ballroom dancing. Yeah I do, I have two rosettes and two small trophies. Ones from a competition and the others are just to say that I passed certain grades of Latin american ballroom and ect But yet even with all those years and certificates and stuff ….still can’t dance now. Only time it comes in handy is for slow dancing at weddings. Lol that I’m good at, clubs….not so much lol xxx

         
      • meganchapple

        September 21, 2012 at 6:54 am

        Steph, I shall take you to a club…and we shall slow dance (then shuffle obviously – they should teach that in a class).

         
      • StephBristow

        September 22, 2012 at 5:08 pm

        I don’t think any class can compare to our self taught shuffling! lol xx

         
  2. gossipfevers

    October 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Reblogged this on Gossip Fever.

     

Leave a Reply

 
