RSS

Teacupcakes

13 Aug

On Day 224, I uploaded a photo of my teacupcakes – cupcakes baked in teacup shaped silicon cases.

I didn’t buy these cases. They were given to me as a birthday present from one of my friends, along with a  cupcake recipe book. I decided over the weekend I would try them out.

The eight piece set (including four teacups and four saucers) can be brought online from well-known websites such as Amazon.

Mocha flavoured cupcakes

My set also included a decorating bottle but personally I don’t think it worked very well and I’ve now thrown that part away, opting for my usual cake decorating equipment.

The decorating bottle didn’t work very well and was very difficult to fill with icing

The recipe I choose to test out the teacups had to be related to a type of drink. The Mocha Cupcakes with Whipped Cream (from Cupcakes & Muffins: 100 everyday recipes) seemed the perfect choice. Just like you get from the coffee shop.

Verdict

There is absolutely no added difficulty in the baking process with these teacups. The difficulty only comes when you get to the eating part because they don’t peel off like paper cakes and are also a lot firmer making it harder to scoop them out. The only sure way to get them out is to tip them out onto the saucers, but even that can get messy. On the plus side they looked fantastic, I just wish there were more than four to a box.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Teacupcakes

  1. StephBristow

    August 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    I think I just drooled a little. You are the baking queen darling! I know where I’m coming for my cake fix! x x x

     
    • meganchapple

      August 13, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Yes, I’ve now been allocated a whole cupboard in the kitchen for all my baking a equipment. I want to have another charity baking party in October for National Baking Week. Could be the perfect time for a reunion.

       
      • StephBristow

        August 13, 2012 at 7:44 pm

        Love it! Although I’ll warn you my baking skills are non existent, and this morning I burnt toast lol Still if charity requires me to eat cakes…I will not be found wanting x x

         
      • meganchapple

        August 13, 2012 at 8:47 pm

        You’ll be fine. I have plenty of cake decorations and edible glitter to hide the burnt bits.

         
  2. mydearbakes

    August 17, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    This looks delicious.. hmmm.. yummy!! =)

     
  3. Amelia

    August 22, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    These look so good! I need to try them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
