RSS

Everybody wants to write a book

25 Jun

I have a lot of short-term goals that change all the time but my lifetime goals remain the same. One of my biggest lifetime goal is to write a book. I haven’t decided what the story is yet, I just know I want to write a novel about something.

I love writing and always have. I really enjoyed creative writing at school and I have continued to write short stories in my free time ever since.

A lot of people share this dream and some of my friends have already put pen to paper and are making their dreams happen. Some have already published, others are currently writing. I’m still thinking.

It’s not that I don’t have any ideas. If anything I have way too many but nothing yet with enough substance to write an entire book. If I’m going to do this I’m going to it right and not let story go cold from a “mid-novel break”, so finding the time to do this will be another important factor. I actually met a woman once who was an aspiring novelist and worked as a temporary receptionist. Even when she worked she was writing, sitting at her desk scribbling away. She made it to 40,000 words in a month as part of Novel Writing Month.

To be able to write a book you have to be an avid reader in the first place. This will help give you ideas and get a taste for different writing styles. I love reading but I don’t really have a favourite genre. I read anything from autobiographies to horror and from romance to adventure.

The best advice I’ve been given so far for novel writing is if you want to start a novel, write about things you really know first such as situations you’ve actually faced. Believe it or not, a lot has happened to me over 21 years. There are so many stories I could cover and at the moment I’m currently throwing all my memories together and expanding on the ideas to see where it takes me. It’ll take a while before I finally have a story in place and then even longer to actually write it but at least I’m actually making some progress towards my lifetime goal.

In the mean time I will read.

Current reading list

  • The Hunger Games trilogy (just Mockingjay to go)
  • Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy
  • The Wind on Fire trilogy (I’ve read the first one so far)
 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Everybody wants to write a book

  1. Joe Pineda

    June 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    Exactly. The point of writing is to write about what you love and to kill that which you hate or makes you afraid.

     
    • meganchapple

      June 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      Yes, I think dreams and nightmares are quite a good place to look for inspiration as well. That’s how the story of Frankenstein was thought up.

       
  2. Writer Jobs

    June 26, 2012 at 3:44 am

    Another nice post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a great day.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today!

    Writers Wanted

     
  3. Kathryn McCullough

    June 26, 2012 at 10:38 am

    You’re right, Megan. You have to write what you know well. You have to read. READ, READ, READ! Sounds like a smart strategy! Can’t wait to hear what you end up writing that novel about!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

     
    • meganchapple

      June 26, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      Thank you. I can’t stand it when people say they want to write but they don’t read. It’s like a director who doesn’t watch other movies or a blogger who doesn’t read other blogs. I’m a magazine editor. I read LOADS of magazines and I really enjoy reading them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
