RSS

Prometheus

04 Jun

SPOILER ALERT

Prometheus focuses on a group of scientists trying to discover the origins of humanity. Their search takes them across the universe where they believe they will get to meet their “engineers”. Unfortunately, as the story unravels they discover they were actually tricked and that even though the engineers created humans, they now want to destroy them.

I thought I would like Prometheus as I heard it was supposed to be a prequel to the Alien franchise, however, director of both, Ridley Scott, decided to choose a different story which takes place inside the same universe as Alien.

There are somethings you can almost guarantee with any sci-fi horror. Monsters with slimy tentacles and acid blood, over curious scientist who find themselves trying to rescue humanity because of their mistakes and some philosophy thrown in about life, science and religion. You can also count on a few gory deaths and an alien pregnancy.

The hardest part of this film is not the gore but actually making sense of the many aspects they’ve tried to squeeze in to the two-hour time frame of this film. There is a lot going on and for me there wasn’t enough information to form a clear picture of the story. I didn’t even realise what the first 10 minutes signified until I read it on Wikipedia the following day.

I’m not saying the story line wasn’t clever, it was just difficult to understand and with the gore as well I probably missed half of it hiding behind my hand. I left the cinema feeling confused and slightly nauseous.

The trick to this film is to not try to compare it to Alien. The last 10 seconds are about the only reference made to the Alien films and for me it was an unnecessary part to add-on. Character wise, if you’re going to watch this film just for Charlie Theron you must know she is not a main character in this film and her character wasn’t even particularly important. The leading characters are the main scientists Dr Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and Dr Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green).

I’ve given Prometheus just two stars because it wasn’t for me but Tom, whose choice it was to watch this film, quite liked it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Film reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Prometheus

  1. Olivia Ashe, writer

    June 8, 2012 at 12:17 am

    My bf is watching this movie as I type, which means I get 2 hours of quiet time. he said something about it being like Alien. I’m not interested in movies like this, I prefer Pride and prejudice 🙂

     
    • meganchapple

      June 11, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      I’m not a big lover of sci fi horror. Not sure why but it makes me feel slightly uncomfortable at times. I did like alien and I was disappointed that this wasn’t that similar.

       
      • Olivia Ashe, writer

        June 17, 2012 at 6:45 am

        I think its meant to be in the same universe or something. I don’t like it either.

         

Leave a Reply

 
