RSS

Go Ape: A tree top adventure

19 Feb
Go Ape: A tree top adventure

As part of my Project 365, I uploaded a post on Day 22 about what I had planned for Valentine’s day. As Valentine’s day took place during the week I made plans for the following weekend but I didn’t want the typical meal out or cinema trip. I wanted to Go Ape!

Me and my new friend

Me and my new friend

Go Ape is a tree top adventure. There are a number of adventure courses dotted all over the UK and each course is different from the next. We went to the Go Ape in Bracknell. Set in forests, you pass from tree to tree using crossings, Tarzan swings and zip wires. The difference is it’s up to YOU to make sure you are attached safely and to guide yourself around the course. Of course there are instructors who make sure your harness is secure and take you through the safety briefing before you begin. They also patrol the course so if you do get stuck they’re not far away.

You may think this is child’s play but it is actually a great day out for adults, in fact everyone in our safety briefing group were adults (or gorillas as they’re referred to at Go Ape). You do have to be over 10 to take part and under 18’s must have adult supervision.

If you’re like me and you don’t trust yourself with your own life, you may take longer than usual to start the zip wires. I think I checked my harness about 20 times before I set off on each zip wire just to make sure I wasn’t jumping to my death.

Practice

Tom practicing

The course does get pretty high at some points and even though I don’t usually get scared when it comes to heights a couple of crossings and zip wires did trigger some vertigo. There are difficulty levels for each crossing and at a couple of points in the course you can choose the easy or the difficult route. At one of these points I admit I took the easy route.

As it was February it was cold and towards the end it began to rain but that didn’t make it any less fun. You do get dirty on the zip wire as you collide with a pile of muddy wood chippings at the bottom. My tip would be to make sure you pull your trousers right up for this so you don’t get a pant-load of mud on impact.

Ladder number 1

If you can climb a rope ladder you're fit enough for the course

The course can take two to three hours but I think we completed it in two (including waiting time and the half hour safety briefing). My favourite part was the big Tarzan swing at the end.

This the second time I have completed a Go Ape course and will happily do it again. It was a great idea for Valentine’s day but it would also make a great day out for a birthday or hen/stag do. Go to http://goape.co.uk/ for more information and if you are planning on trying Go Ape watch the videos below to find out what to expect.

Tunnel crossing

Each crossing is different from the next

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Go Ape: A tree top adventure

  1. Chief Gorilla

    February 21, 2012 at 11:21 am

    “Oo Oo Ah Ah” Super piece Megan. You could say ‘love is in the air’ literally at Go Ape.

    We’re delighted you had a great time monkeying around and we love the kodak moments and video footage!

    BIG thanks for the write-up, thank you for swinging by and we hope to see you again soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
