RSS

The Lion King 3D: Back to my childhood

19 Oct

Simba, Rafiki, Timon and Pumbaa and all the other great characters are back! I have come to the conclusion that Disney should bring all their classics back to the cinema.

When I heard The Lion King was coming back to the cinema I just had to go see it (even though it cost an arm and a leg and it was really difficult to find an evening showing). Did they really think only children would want to see this?

The Lion King was released in 1994, back when I was four and movies still came on VHS. We had the video but it broke which I think had something to do with me playing it too much. I’ve always regarded The Lion King as the best animated movie of all time and I stand by that. It has everything in it. Great songs which I still remember the words to, animals, a fantastic storyline, comedy and tragedy and it can be enjoyed by children and adults alike. I proved this by taking Tom with me and even though he said he wasn’t happy about it I caught him singing along on more than one occasion.

I would have gone to see this movie even if it hadn’t been in 3D, which I don’t think made that much of a difference. Mufasa’s death is still the saddest moment in animation history with or without 3D.

So definitely go see this movie if you have the chance because it’ s a great opportunity to relive your childhood. It gets an obvious five stars. Now all I have to do is wait for more Disney movies to revive themselves on the big screen (Beauty and the Beast! Beauty and the Beast! Beauty and the Beast!).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 19, 2011 in Film reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “The Lion King 3D: Back to my childhood

  1. Terrell Mole

    November 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Awesome page and incredibly informative. Thanks for taking the time to write it and post it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
