RSS

Why you should blog

15 Oct

I think I’m finally getting the hang of this. It took me a while and at first I really didn’t know what I wanted to blog about. Everyone kept saying you need to pick something specific but I love to talk about everything, new and old. Anything I fancy writing about I want to be able to write about it.

I was first introduced to blogging in 2007 after visiting several university open days. Pretty much all the lecturers said that blogging was a great way to get your name out there. I thought I’d give it a go so I got a blog called Meg Mail on Blogger.com. I wanted it to be a platform for all my journalism work so I started posting articles that I’d done both before and during my university studies. Somehow, however, this blog turned into more of a platform for my Big Brother rants. In the end I sort of abandoned ship.

I didn’t completely give up because I had set up more specific blogs through Blogger including Endangered which actually did quite well. The only problem was I still wanted the freedom to talk about anything.

In 2009, I decided to start over and reinvent my blogging identity. That’s when I discovered WordPress. I started Megan Chapple’s Blog and uploaded articles from University. Unfortunately, coursework and student life got in the way and (after still not having realised that people need to know your blog is there and not just expect people to go to it) I left the blog for almost a year.

Then at the beginning of 2011 I realised that I was missing out on something. I decided to give blogging another go and this time I decided to take the advice of other bloggers. I started commenting on other blogs, sharing blogs, getting my blog address out there, tagging correctly, linking my social media…and so on and so forth. Then my views picked up, I started getting comments from complete strangers and that’s when you know your blog is getting somewhere. I changed my blog name to something more catchy and started planning ahead on what I would post. I love reading the blogs on Freshly Pressed and other blogs related to my blogs to see different view-points. Not all my posts are related but there are a number of subjects that I want to write about and I’m learning a lot through blogging about different things. I can be known as the graduate blogger who posts about life and let’s face it, there is lots to talk about in life.

So there you have it, my blogging journey and for those still wondering whether they should be blogging read my ten reasons below.

TEN REASONS TO BLOG

  • Get your views out there – A blog is a great way for you put your thoughts and opinions across and I don’t mean rant endlessly.
  • Promote yourself  or your business – You don’t have to be in media to use a blog to promote your work. You could be a decorator and want to show off your work or you could be an aspiring chef and want to show off your skills and recipes.
  • Practice – When I didn’t have a job it didn’t mean I should stop writing. A blog is somewhere you can post your work even when you’re not working so it keeps you active in the field.
  • Offer support – If you’re going through a difficult time a blog will show you you’re not the only one. Write about your experiences and offer support to others.
  • Stay connected – I also use my blog to stay in touch with friends and family so they can see what I’m up to.
  • Make a difference – If there is a topic that not many people are talking about and you feel it’s important use your blog to raise awareness.
  • You could make money – This mainly applies to specific blogs. If you’re writing a specific blog and it’s receiving a lot of hits, advertising companies may want to advertise on your page and it’s a great way to make some extra dosh from a hobby.
  • Learn – If you’re blogging about a specific topic you’ll to do your homework and may even need to go to other people’s blogs on the subject so you’ll learn even more.
  • Learn about yourself – It’s true. Looking back over the last few years in posts I’ve learnt a lot about what I enjoy and don’t enjoy and what I’m good at and what I could probably do with out. Blogging gets you to write about your thoughts and even if no ones reading it it’s a great learning curve for you (and it also helps you improve your writing style).
  • For fun – Blogging is fun once you get the hang of it and when people read your blog it’s a great feeling. A blog allows you to be creative and be yourself so what are you waiting for? Start your blog now!
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Why you should blog

  1. Arindam Mohapatra

    October 15, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Awesome one Megan… keep on writing 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
