RSS

Tenerife 2011

23 Aug
Tenerife 2011

I’ve finally done it!

This is the (very) delayed account of my holiday in Tenerife with my boyfriend Tom. We went on June 21st and got back on the 28th. We had a fantastic time. Here is a summary of some of the things we did and some photos of the holiday.

Me at Frankie and Benny's at Gatwick

Our hotel room! 2 FLOORS!!!

Day 1

Flight day! We arrived at Gatwick as soon as check in opened so we had plenty of time to kill until we were due to board. In that time we managed to have a nice lunch in Frankie and Benny’s. After eventually landing in Tenerife and finding our coach (the guide gave us dodgy directions) we got to our hotel in the evening, just in time for some dinner.

It was great that we went all-inclusive as it saved us so much money and it was all you can eat so we were never hungry or thirsty. Perfect relaxation without the need to wander around in search of a place to eat when your on a budget. We stayed at the 4 star Best Tenerife Hotel which was in a quiet place away from the busy parts of Playa de las Americas.

And I haven’t even mentioned the room yet. At first I was very disappointed to hear we were on the ground floor but no one had told us that the hotel had a refurbishment before the summer period. Apparently, they were meant to of built a spa on the bottom floor but plans changed and instead some of the bottom floor rooms were upgraded…and guess who got one of these rooms? 2 flat screen TVs, 2 big wardrobes, an upstairs!!! giant bathroom and our own private sunbathing area. I literally thought I’d died and gone to heaven. We spent the rest of the evening in the bar with the all-inclusive cocktails. Who can blame us after finishing our exams and dissertations?

Day 2

Day 2 got off to a rocky start. It was all down to my mobile which decided this holiday would be it’s last and slowly died throughout. It decided the first night that it would change the time to two hours forward so you can imagine how worried I was when I got up at what I thought was 8:30 to see it was dark outside. Breakfast was open so we went but it wasn’t until we saw the clock when we were leaving that we realised it was only just turning 8. At least we managed to get good seats at the pool.

Raccoon

We also went to our Thomas Cook welcome meeting that morning where we booked two trips, the catamarans and Loro Parque. We then spent the rest of the day at the pool trying to catch up with the other hotel guests. Had to be done. We also took a walk in the evening after dinner to have a look around.

Day 3

Day 3 became another pool day. Sadly we got burnt this time. We also watched the hotel lunchtime entertainment consisting of a skunk, miniature pig, snowy owl, Burmese python and my favourite, a 4 month old raccoon which I got a cheeky photo with.

We went for another walk that evening and this time we had cocktails by the beach. I had a Volcanic Island and Tom had a Blue Lagoon.

Tom and his Blue Lagoon

Day 4

We decided to have a walk along the beach to see the area in daylight for once. We looked around the shops and past the many cocktail bars. This is when Tom brought a sombrero.

Day 5

Day 5 was the day of the catamaran. We got to watch dolphins and whales and we stopped in the sea for people to have a swim. I don’t know about you but there’s something about really deep dark sea water that freaks me out. After clinging to the railing for 10 minutes I finally got in and joined Tom who had been swimming around for ages. I spent the entire time gripping on to Tom for dear life and annoying everyone else but at least I did it!

Dolphins in the sea

When I got back on the boat I got straight on the nets and stayed there the whole way back. After dinner we watched the hotel’s evening entertainment which was just like any other. It was crap to be frank.

Day 6

This day had been reserved for the market but instead we found ourselves by the pool again. At least it helped us continue our book race that we began on the first day.

I was also having my own little competition with the bar. There was an all-inclusive bar menu and I wanted to try everything that I hadn’t tried. It was the turn of a different drink each night and I had to finish it. I did not fail this challenge.

We also went for a walk that night and managed to walk straight into a woman who insisted on performing some

Tom and his sombrero

sort of ritual between me and Tom. She took both our hands, said a few words in a language I’d never heard, tied a bracelet on both of us and asked for spare change. For all I knew we had just been married.

Day 7

This was the day the heat rash on my feet decided to go mental and looked like I’d contracted some sort of tropical disease. It was also the day we went to Loro Parque (highly recommended by Steph Bristow). It was a 1 1/2 hour journey there as it was in the North of the island and it was also packed when we got there but it was worth it. We saw penguins, chimpanzees, lizards, meerkats, tigers, jaguars, alligators and more. There was also a section called tree tops where birds flew around freely with no cages. We also managed to fit three shows in including the orcas, the dolphins and the sea lions which were by far the best. The aquarium also gave Tom the chance to show me his obsession with fishes and going back to my episode in the sea, explain how harmless sharks are in those waters. Mr Clever clogs.

Sea lions

Sea lion show at Loro Parque

Sadly our day was slightly dampened by the journey back. People get Thomas Cook and Thompson easily confused and when our bus was over filled there was a very long wait sorting it out. It was also made worse by the lack of air con and the fact it was an overcrowded double-decker with us on the top floor plus some angry Scottish people (angry Scottish people are much more angry than everyone else).

Last day

I was really sad to leave. Our flight wasn’t until the afternoon so we decided to make the most of it by doing some souvenir shopping. We managed to find a cheap booze store (three times cheaper than duty-free) and I brought some honey rum, sangria and tequilla. That’s what I call a Spanish souvenir. We had one last stop in the bar before heading to the airport where we were greeted with delays and a Macdonald’s meal for 2 which cost £16. Lovely, especially as it was my turn to pay.

All in all it was one of the best holidays I’ve ever been on so well done Thomas Cook (and me for booking my first holiday).

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Tenerife 2011

  1. StephBristow

    August 23, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Its really well written Megs well done! Love that I’m in here too! He he xx

     
  2. Kerry

    August 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I have enjoyed reading your holiday blog sounds like you had a lovely time. I was wondering how much you paid for your trip to loro parque and if you would advise booking it once on holiday or at the travel agents before the holiday. We are due to go in September and we would really like to go. Hope to hear from you soon Kerry

     
    • meganchapple

      August 25, 2011 at 10:18 pm

      Hi Kerry,

      Thank you for reading my blog. We booked it once on holiday mainly because it was less hassle and we also got to see a list of other trips available from the hotel so we could make a better decision. When we booked we were also given the option of transport which we chose.

      You’ll have to excuse me as I’m not 100% on the figure but I think we paid around the same as it is online for the tickets plus travel which, as we were on the other side of the island, cost about 20 euros more each.

      I’m not sure which one I would advise as to be honest we didn’t even think about booking it at the travel agents so you should probably speak to them just in case they have any better offers but what I will say is definitely go. It’s great and the shows are worth seeing.

      Hope this helps

       

Leave a Reply

 
