RSS

Eurovision! My verdict

15 May
Azerbaijan wins Eurovision

Eurovision 2011 winners Azerbaijan

Well Eurovision has passed for another year and I have to say it was probably one of the best Eurovisions I have ever seen. Eurovision is the only show where you don’t have to be on drugs to see a gnome on a uni-cycle playing a trumpet. The high standard of entries this year kept me entertained throughout, however, I was very surprised with the outcome.

Firstly, I’m going to give out my points. This is my top 10 of Eurovision 2011.

12 points – Slovenia

10 points – UK

8 points – Georgia

7 points – Serbia

6 points  – The man with the sexy voice (Italy)

5 points – France

4 points – Ireland

3 points – Hungary

2 points – Switzerland

1 point – Austria

Take note of how different my vote compares to the European vote.

I’m going to explain my votes but firstly I’m going to rant about the entries that did well and clearly shouldn’t have. There’s one thing about Eurovision which everyone knows. It’s a Geography lesson. Why? Because you can learn which country is next to which purely by who they vote for. I’m glad, however, that this sort of voting was booed heavily by the audience. Sadly it was still counted. The day Cyprus and Greece cannot vote for each other is the day the Eurovision becomes the best programme ever. And starting on that…

Greece. What the hell! The worst song in the entire contest. I screamed the second the votes started coming in for them. How tone-deaf does everyone have to be to think these were good? Not only did they have the worst rapper in the world but they managed to combine it with the worst singer in the world and call it a song. Utterly awful! Yet they got higher than us.

Greece were not the only bad ones though. There was also Denmark who always manage take someone elses song and put their own words over the top. Then there was Ukraine who clearly got points for the sand woman not the actually singer.

Those are the truly awful ones done and sadly all of them scored quite high which shows that Eurovision still hasn’t changed that much.

Then there’s my votes. It was a toss-up between Austria and Azerbaijan for the one point and clearly I made the wrong decision. I actually really liked the Azerbaijan song but it wasn’t really my bag over the other songs I picked. Then Switzerland and Hungary whose songs were both very catchy.

Now number four. I know I said I hated these guys and I still find them seriously annoying. They remind me of hyperactive kids. There’s also one other problem…the can’t sing! But you really do forget all that when watching them and I’m ashamed to admit it but the song was actually really catchy. They did put on a really funny performance that made me laugh.

Then there was France. A completely different song to anything else in this contest and beautifully sung. Very surprised they didn’t get more points. Italy however became the closest I got to the actual vote. Italy’s answer to Michael Buble had one of sexiest voices ever. Good to have you back Italy!

Next I picked Serbia. I would have given them more if they’d sung in English. I’m usually a big fan of countries singing in their own language but this song really did sound better in English.

Now, I liked Graham Norton’s narration this year, however, there was something I disagreed with him on and that was Georgia. I thought they were great. It is true they were very different to the usual Eurovision song but I thought it was a really good song and well performed as well as that awesome background. Not to mention a much better rapper than Greece.

Blue at Eurovision

Blue performed well but it just wasn't enough

Ok, maybe I am being biased but if I can’t vote for them normally I will vote for them here. Blue were awesome. I have to be honest, I have missed Blue. I was disappointed they didn’t get more votes. Look on the bright side though, we got 10 times more points than we did last year.

Then there’s my winner. Slovenia! The song No one by Maja Keuc was definitely the best song and the best sung song in the whole competition in my opinion. Have a listen to it here(new window).

Slovenia

My winner! Slovenia's Maja Keuc was fantastic

So there you have it. My vote. I’m looking forward to next year already. I’m interested to hear other people’s opinions as well so comment on this with your top 10. Thank you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
