RSS

Charity and cakes

02 May
Melting chocolate

I'm not going to lie. Not all of this chocolate made it to the sweets.

On April 30, I organised a small get together at my student house to raise money for The Eve Appeal. The Eve Appeal raises money and awareness for Gynaecology Cancer Research.

Originally, the Make Time for Tea campaign was supposed to be held over March to coincide with Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month but I signed up at the beginning of April and have spent the past week organising the event.

There was a good turn out including some extra guests and everyone donated. My goal was £30 and I’m happy to say we managed to raise £38!

I’m happy all the hard work paid off. I spent two days baking and as I’m a terrible baker I expected a lot of problems but luck was on my side and everything turned out OK. I made cupcakes, chocolate sweets and a cake all from scratch. Go me!

Cupcakes

Cupcakes and chocolates

Special thank you to everyone who came and I hope you all enjoyed it.

If you want to do an event like this you can still sign up for the Make Time for Tea fundraising pack from the website (new window). Good luck!

You can listen to one of the guests comment about the day by going here  (new window) and you can see more pictures by looking at my Flickr stream at the side.

Heather and Steph eating cake

"Let them eat cake!" Heather and Steph enjoying the cupcakes

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
